Register | Login
Intellectual Property Today
RFC Express - Document Management System
2010 Top Trademark Firms
2010 Top Patent Firms
Current Issue

Advertising Opportunities

Click Here

Email A Friend Back to Archived News

University of Alabama School of Law Wins International Trademark Association - Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition

Wednesday, May 09, 2007

New York, NY – This year, the International Trademark Association (INTA) held the national finals of the Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition in Washington, DC, on March 24, at the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit.

The competition was based on a mock trademark case that required the students to present arguments on the issues of counterfeiting, the right of publicity and third-party liability for unfair competition. The case highlighted the contemporary nature of reproducing luxury goods and using the Internet as a powerful marketing and advertising tool that contributes to the dilution of brands.

"This competition continues to draw the very best and brightest students and we are excited to see that talent and ambition," said INTA Executive Director, Alan C. Drewsen.

The winners from each region were:

  • East – University of Virginia School of Law (Jonathan Ganter, Jonathan Lucier, Dave Mroz)
  • South – University of Alabama School of Law (William Cunningham, Daniel Murdock, Elizabeth Sees, Kimberly Thomason)
  • Midwest – Creighton University School of Law (Angela Boyer, Donna Garchie, Matthew Klahn, Angela Miller)
  • West – University of California Hastings College of the Law (Christopher Cassidy, Kristen Ditlevsen)

All four regional winning teams advanced to the National Final in Washington, DC, where more than US $3,000 in prize money was awarded. The teams argued before distinguished jurists from the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board (TTAB) of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO).

The National Final winners were:

  • Best Team – University of Alabama School of Law
  • Second Place Team – University of California Hastings College of the Law
  • Best Oralist Team – University of Alabama School of Law
  • Second Place Oralist Team – University of California Hastings College of the Law
  • The Dolores K. Hanna National Best Brief – University of Alabama School of Law
  • Second Place Brief – University of California Hastings College of the Law

"It’s clear to each and every one of the professionals involved that these students are enormously hard-working and this competition is really a place for them all to shine," said Lefkowitz Committee Chair Alisa Hurlburt of Phillip Morris USA.

"It is truly an honor to be a part of this competition and the students who take part in this exercise take away a tremendous experience that will serve them throughout their careers," said the Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition National Coordinator, Chris Foley, from the law firm of Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP in Washington, D.C.

Ms. Hurlburt, Vice Chair John C. Baum of Townsend and Townsend and Crew LLP, and a dedicated group of volunteers generously provided their time and expertise to develop the program and materials, administer the competition, and serve as brief and oral argument judges.

INTA also recognizes the outstanding contributions made by the Lefkowitz Regional Coordinators in Chicago, San Francisco, Atlanta and in New York.

Next year, Mr. Baum will lead the 2007 – 2008 competition along with Vice Chair Stacey J. Johnson of Ballard Spahr Andrews and Ingersoll, LLP.

The competition was established to introduce law students to the challenging and varied issues involved in trademark and unfair competition law. It was named for the late Saul Lefkowitz, who served on the TTAB of the USPTO for more than 30 years and dedicated himself to the further development of trademark law and practice. He is most particularly and fondly remembered as a mentor to young practitioners, helping them develop an understanding of trademark law and procedure when he worked for the law firm of Finnegan Henderson in Washington, D.C.

Many students involved in the competition go on to careers with INTA-member organizations, as well as later leadership positions in the Association.

About INTA

The International Trademark Association (INTA), founded in 1878, is an association of more than 5,000 member companies and firms from more than 190 countries, dedicated to the support and advancement of trademarks and related intellectual property as elements of fair and effective national and international commerce. For more information on the Association and its goals, please visit

For additional media inquires, please contact: Matthew C. Schmidt (Primary contact); Manager, Communications; +1-212-642-1727;

Back to Archived News
Looking for...

  © Copyright 2010 Intellectual Property Today
Download Adobe Reader for free