Register | Login
Intellectual Property Today
RFC Express - Document Management System
2015 Top Patent Firms
2014 Top Trademark Firms
Current Issue


Advertising Opportunities

Click Here

Email A Friend Back to Science & Technology News

USPTO and Kauffman Foundation to Announce Patents for Humanity Winners

Tuesday, April 02, 2013

Pilot program encourages patent holders to address global humanitarian challenges

The U.S. Department of Commerce’s U. S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) will honor patent holders who have made use of patented technologies to address humanitarian challenges on April 11, 2013, at a Capitol Hill event supported by the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation. Acting Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Acting USPTO Director Teresa Stanek Rea will present the awards and U.S. Senator Patrick Leahy, Chairman of the Judiciary Committee, who last year introduced the Patents for Humanity Program Improvement Act, will speak at the event. The USPTO will issue the first-ever awards as part of its Patents for Humanity initiative, a program conducted with support from the Kauffman Foundation.

USPTO launched Patents for Humanity in February 2012 as part of an Obama administration initiative promoting game-changing innovations to solve long-standing development challenges. The program is an awards competition recognizing patent owners and licensees who address global challenges in health and standards of living. In January 2013, the non-profit Licensing Executives Society International (LESI) presented the 2012 National IP and Technology Transfer Policy Award to Patents for Humanity.

Entrants compete in four categories: medical technology, food and nutrition, clean technology, and information technology. Applications to the pilot were accepted through Oct. 31, 2012. Winners will receive recognition for their work and accelerated processing of select matters at the USPTO. For more information on Patents for Humanity, including the contestants and selection criteria, visi .

What: Patents for Humanity Awards Ceremony

Who: Acting USPTO Director Teresa Stanek Rea
U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee Chairman Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.)

When: April 11, 2013, at 4 p.m. ET

Where: Dirksen Senate Office Building,
Judiciary Committee Hearing Room SD-226
Constitution Ave NE and 1st Street NE
Washington, DC 20004

This event is open to the press. Space is limited and registration will be done on a first-come, first-served basis. Media members should RSVP to Paul Fucito at

Stay current with the USPTO by subscribing to receive email updates at our Subscription Center at

Back to Science & Technology News
Looking for...

  © Copyright 2015 Intellectual Property Today
Download Adobe Reader for free