Register | Login
Intellectual Property Today
RFC Express - Document Management System
2015 Top Patent Firms
2014 Top Trademark Firms
Current Issue


Advertising Opportunities

Click Here

Email A Friend Back to Intellectual Property News

AIPLA Installs 2013-2014 Board of Directors

Monday, November 04, 2013

The American Intellectual Property Law Association (AIPLA) installed the 2013-2014 Board of Directors during the 2013 Annual Meeting held October 24-26, in Washington, DC.

AIPLA's new President is Wayne P. Sobon, with Inventergy, Cupertino, CA. Mr. Sobon will serve as the chair of the Executive Committee consisting of the other officers of the Association, including President-Elect Sharon Israel, a partner with Mayer Brown LLP in Houston, TX; First Vice President Denise W. DeFranco, a partner with Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP, Boston, MA, and Second Vice President Mark L. Whitaker, a partner with Baker Botts in Washington, DC. After serving a one year term as President, Jeffrey I.D. Lewis, a partner with Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler, LLP, New York, NY becomes Immediate Past President, and will remain a member of AIPLA's Executive Committee.

Also elected during the 2013 AIPLA Annual Meeting were Secretary David Ruschke, Medtronic Cardio Vascular, Santa Rosa, CA and Treasurer John Hornickel, PolyOne Corporation, Avon Lake, OH, as well as board members Karen S. Canady, canady + lortz LLP, Los Angeles, CA; Kenneth K. Cho, Kim & Chang, Seoul, South Korea; Jody H. Drake, Sughrue Mion, PLLC, Washington, DC; and Manny W. Schecter, IBM Corporation, Armonk, NY. Bernard J. Knight, Jr., of McDermott, Will & Emery, Washington, DC, was elected as General Counsel.

Continuing on the board are: W. Todd Baker, a partner with Oblon, Spivak, McClelland, Maier & Nuestadt, LLP, Alexandria, VA; Amie Peele Carter, a partner with Faegre Baker Daniels, LLP, Indianapolis, IN; Barbara Fiacco, a partner with Foley Hoag, LLP in Boston, MA; Bradley A. Forrest, Shareholder with Schwegman, Lundberg & Woessner, PA, Minneapolis, MN; J. Michael Martinez de Andino, a partner with Hunton & Williams, LLP in Richmond, VA; Kevin H. Rhodes, President and Chief Intellectual Property Counsel of 3M Innovative Properties Company, St. Paul, MN; Kevin Tottis of the Law Offices of Kevin Tottis in Chicago, IL; and Chen Wang, Deputy Chief IP Counsel for E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Company, Wilmington, DE.

AIPLA, the American Intellectual Property Law Association, was founded in 1897 to maintain a high standard of professional ethics, to aid in the improvement in laws relating to intellectual property and in their proper interpretation by the courts, and to provide legal education to the public and to its members on intellectual property issues. AIPLA is a national bar association constituted primarily of lawyers in private and corporate practice, in government service, and in the academic community.

Back to Intellectual Property News
Looking for...

  © Copyright 2015 Intellectual Property Today
Download Adobe Reader for free